If I want to be treated like a professional I should act like one


Drunk-Surgeon-801916Developers and testers often complain that they are not recognised as real professional experts, I wonder why.
One category of respected professional experts is for example heart surgeons.

Now let’s imagine I go talk to heart surgeon Mike and go

<me> I need heart surgery
<Mike> Sure we will schedule it
<me> No no no, I need it now because I have a dinner appointment tonight
<Mike> OK, that’s fine we’ll do it quickly, I won’t even wash my hands

Would you trust Mike as a real professional expert? I wouldn’t

Now let’s think about a common scenario where Product owner Jeff comes to me (developer) and says

<Jeff> I need the new payment feature
<me> Sure we will schedule it
<Jeff> No no no, I need it by tomorrow, we need to comply with regulation
<me> OK that’s fine, I’ll hack it together for you and I won’t even write tests

How can i expect to be treated like a professional?

Thanks for the idea to Marcello Duarte (@_md)

 

One thought on “If I want to be treated like a professional I should act like one

Leave a Reply

