Next Generation Software Engineering


Next Generation Software Engineering
Next Generation Software Engineering

I am excited!

When somebody like Mary Poppendieck during a keynote at the Lean Kanban Central Europe 2014 presents a slide named “Next Generation Software Engineering” and you realise that your teams cover each and every point, it is a great feeling.

The points (blurred in the picture) are:

  • Acceptance Test Driven Development process
  • Tight collaboration between business and delivery teams
  • Cross functional teams include QA and operations
  • Automated build testing, db migration and deployment
  • Incremental development on mainline with continuous integration
  • Software always production ready
  • Releases tied to business needs not operational constraints

And there is so much more we can do to improve, even more exciting! Well done PaddyPower! Well done BSD!

4 thoughts on “Next Generation Software Engineering

  1. First of all thanks on the congratulations… RE: https://twitter.com/augeva/status/532702006377345024

    I’m a bit allergic to Twitter, but I am always happy to comment on blogs and love getting comments. 🙂 I guess you could just say I’m long winded.

    Secondly, regarding this post as well as your previous, have you read Dreyfus Model of Skill Acquisition (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dreyfus_model_of_skill_acquisition )? I would even suggest you read the original paper which is pretty interesting. In regards to your team performing all the bullet points, it might be interesting for you to consider where you are as far as skill level for each bullet. That way you know where you can develop the most and what areas you can advance in.

    – JCD

    • Hi JCD, thanks for your feedback!
      I will make sure I use your blog for my feedback next time, I found it inspirational in its neutrality of judgement. I appreciate people that don’t follow extremist thoughts but try to see the good parts of all extremes and join them together.

      On the Dreyfus model, no I didn’t know it, but thank to you I do now, or at least I have read the basic explanation on Wikipedia. It resembles in a way my raw model I described in my previous post but it is more complex as it is based on 4 qualities while mine is based on 2 (perception and learning strategy). I will read Dreyfus original paper as soon as I have some free time, thanks for pointing me to it.

      To be perfectly honest my goal while writing that post was not to create a model that could compete with any other model, it was mainly my attempt at describing what an expert is and resulted in a failure as I couldn’t identify an expert stage (the missing 5th) based on Bohr’s definition of expert 🙂

      I use blogging mainly for reflection and self improvement, I find it very useful.

      Your last consideration on the level of expertise for each of the bullet points is very interesting, I didn’t look at it this way and, this new perspective is extremely helpful, thank you!

      Please come back to my blog and comment on my articles, with one comment you have given me 2 great suggestions, thank you!

Leave a Reply

